Insurance companies are trying to wriggle out of paying the full amount of the claim or even deny the claim in full. If your insurance company does not live up to its promise to deliver on your complaint, the only option is to sue them.
All states have laws that allow insurance companies to act for their policyholders in “good faith”. When they refuse your legitimate claim, try to minimize the amount paid on your claim, or act unreasonably in handling your claim, you have the right to sue them for receiving payment on your claim— and probably even for acting in bad faith.
Most often, even if someone is clearly at fault, there might be some questions about the insurance coverage of the defendant or the amount of insurance coverage available to accommodate for injuries and damages that result. Many of the exclusions included within insurance policies can be used by the insurance company of the at-fault party in an attempt to deny or limit coverage in the event of an incident of personal injury.
A defendant may often have a shadow or excess liability insurance policy above and beyond the primary policy. Insurers may not provide this information on a voluntary basis.
Auto Insurance Laws in Wisconsin
No proof of insurance or financial responsibility, driving any motor vehicle is illegal in the state of Wisconsin. Throughout the registration period, the driver must maintain proof of continuous insurance. The penalties in Wisconsin for driving without insurance include suspension of driving privileges, fines of up to $500 and towing of your vehicle. Furthermore, if your car is towed, you are responsible for paying towing and storage fees.
Workers compensation Laws in Wisconsin
Workers ‘ compensation is a state-mandated insurance program that provides coverage to an employee who has been injured at work. Such type of insurance includes medical charges, a percentage of lost wages, and other work-related injury costs.
You will file a claim with your employer to obtain workers ‘ compensation insurance.
Unless they qualify for self-insured status, Wisconsin Employers who meet specific requirements are required to carry Worker’s Compensation Insurance. Employers are assured that they will not be charged for damages, medical care, and lost wages if their employees get injured while they work.
If employees get hurt on the job, they can be directed by employers to the compensation system for quality medical and prompt payment of benefits and early return to work for their insurance company.
Employers who do not bear worker’s comp despite being mandated by state law are not only facing potential civil lawsuits from injured workers.
Violating the law can also lead to embargoes. In Wisconsin, fines are either double the value of the accrued premium or $750, whichever is greater, for workers ‘ comp lapses. An even more compelling reason to ensure that the payments made by your workers are up-to-date: The Wisconsin Workers ‘ Compensation Division has the power to close companies whose employers do not provide the required insurance until they receive adequate coverage.
If you have questions about insurance law, contact our accident and injury lawyer for a free consultation.